Nightmarriage
Chad Thomas Johnston
Best Read [Chad Thomas Johnston] ↠ Nightmarriage || [Business Book] PDF ☆
May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM By Chad Thomas Johnston

Chad Thomas Johnston s Nightmarriage is a whimsical memoir that explores the terrors of marriage and the perils of parenthood Adapted from Johnston s blog series of the same name, Nightmarriage proves that, when two people marry, their flaws tie the knot, too In essays such as My Wife, the Black Hole, Hearts and Jumper Cables, Knives and Wives, HoneymoonwalkingChad Thomas Johnston s Nightmarriage is a whimsical memoir that explores the terrors of marriage and the perils of parenthood Adapted from Johnston s blog series of the same name, Nightmarriage proves that, when two people marry, their flaws tie the knot, too In essays such as My Wife, the Black Hole, Hearts and Jumper Cables, Knives and Wives, Honeymoonwalking to Jail , and Blessed Are the Tentmakers, Johnston weaves stories on his literary loom that are equal parts luminous and lunatic.Writing as only a minister s son with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder can, Johnston has crafted an observational ode to both the blunders and wonders of wedlock, and his writing is punctuated accordingly with absurd alliteration, appalling puns, and madcap metaphors Nightmarriage is a must read for fans of David Sedaris, Robert Fulghum, and Anne Lamott.While Johnston created the cover art himself, the interior of the book features original work by artists BARRR, Dan Billen, Ben Chlapek, Megan Frauenhoffer, Danny Joe Gibson, Mark Montgomery, and Darin M White The appendices of the book also include Twitter stream excerpts, recipes, artist information, and other miscellany from the world of Chad Thomas Johnston.
  • Title: Nightmarriage
  • Author: Chad Thomas Johnston
  • ISBN: 9780615825557
  • Page: 138
  • Format: Paperback

Comments

Cindy May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
Chad Thomas Johnston’s book Nightmarriage is anything BUT a tome describing marriage as a bad dream. If the book is to be pegged at all (and this may be a disservice), it is a comic celebration of finding one’s way through dimly lit first, and often unexpected, experiences in young marriage and child rearing. In a style reminiscent of David Sedaris, Chad allows us to join him on the journey of negotiating compromise and revelation in his marriage to Becki and the birth of their daughter. His [...]
Click to Replay
KJ Roelke May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
I downloaded this book from NoiseTrade and was intrigued because the title was "Nightmarriage" but it was advertised as a comedyI found there were multiple occasions when I literally laughed out loud and I have never had to access a dictionary as many times as I did reading this book! The author's style is akin to having a conversation with an over-intelligent 8-year-old and it was like a breath of fresh air. His honesty and transparency quickly endear himself to the reader and that is the reaso [...]
Click to Replay
Karen Gennari May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
If you are a newlywed fumbling in the matrimonial vortex or a new parent trying to find the “clue” in “clueless,” you may find solace in Chad Thomas Johnston’s Nightmarriage. It is a refreshing read in that Johnston bares his soul on issues that you couldn’t pry with a crowbar from most men. This witty, whimsical memoir is brimming with wordplay and imagery from start to finish.
Click to Replay
Lisa May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
I don't read blogs or newspaper columns, but not because I'm opposed to them. I'm perfectly happy to read them when they are compiled and edited into a book. In fact, the "chapters" which were originally blog entries make for a very nice format of essays (IMO). Chad is funny, insightful, and poignant. His imagery and emotions mingle nicely together and make for fun reading.
Click to Replay
Adele May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
Anne Lamott and David Sedaris fans will (I think especially) love this honest, hilarious, and warmhearted portrait of marriage and fatherhood. A wonderful book of essays that people in all stages of life will enjoy.
Click to Replay
Aljan May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
I just could not get into this book. I felt no attachment to the narrator.
Click to Replay
Joel May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
4.5 stars. A very humorous and touching look at married life and parenthood. I found myself nodding along to several of the anecdotes. I'll definitely keep my eyes peeled for Chad's next work.
Click to Replay
Lade Tawak May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
While I had attempted to date a few women in Lawrence none of them were bumblebees in black stockings.""I find it fishy, for example, that Becki remembers an eight-syllable word like trimethylaminuria, but forgets where she placed her purse. With the passage of time, I may have developed a hypothesis that may account for Becki's behavior: Maybe-just maybe-my wife is a black hole, incarnate."This is a very very funny book. I loved it. It was easy to read and the flow was great.Memoirs are one of [...]
Click to Replay
Landra Graf May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
hether it’s buying things that are over there, dealing with Dodge’s incapable of surviving 110,000 miles or dealing with the folly of the pity party, Chad Thomas Johnston speaks to the newly married, newly parent-hooded (catch that portmanteau) in everyone.Nightmarriage is a composition of essay’s, fun anecdotes about Chad’s steps through the world of marriage and becoming a parent. Spoken not as one who knows all the rules, but as someone learning them, the stories of Chad’s journey s [...]
Click to Replay
Gigi Frost May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
I was imbued with a entirely pleasant, autobiographical tale of the author and his wife, Becki.Their meeting, courtship, and confusion of a long distance relationship is heartwarming. In recent years, especially with the advent of social media and great leaps in technology, the fundamental ideas of courting and romance have inevitably been changed.There is something quite magnetic in Johnston's entire narration of the early years of marriage and parenthood. It is most certainly not easy to displ [...]
Click to Replay
CarolMacInnis May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
I won this book from a contest on .Author, Chad Johnston writes a witty and fun memoir of his marriage to Becki and the pregnancy of their daughter Evangeline. As the son of a minister and having the affliction of obsessive-compulsive disorder, he puts together an array of humerous antidotes of the highs and lows of marriage. From the misplacing of keys, to building tents in the living room to the cravings of an expectant mother. Also, the idiosyncrasies of the nine month journey that a woman mu [...]
Click to Replay
Abbey Gohren May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
This book will put you in various predicaments, among themffawing noisily on city busesorting in the living room for the 15th time in 5 minutes, earning the annoyed glance of your spousequoting incessantly to aforesaid spouse, until they too join in the merriment.hing at your own failings and foibles, and realizing what grace is forIt's clear. Chad Thomas Johston loves his wife, he loves their little daughter, but boy can he spin a tale that weaves his own foibles and theirs is ways that will ke [...]
Click to Replay
Karrie Higgins May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
From a theory of his wife as a "black hole" through which objects time-travel to the future to the story of his wife's secret code for fleeting wishes ("Steak-N-Shake!"), Chad Thomas Johnston delivers a hilarious, yet tender, account of his marriage. More than once, I found myself reading passages out loud to my husband, though it wasn't always easy through my giggling. Don't let the humor -- or the title -- fool you, though. Nightmarriage is a love story at heart.
Click to Replay
Jennifer Luitwieler May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
This is not a book about how to survive marriage. This is a love story about a man, his wife and their baby. This is love song to art, including music, movies and books. Johnson's Nightmarriage is funny, punny, and intimate. His writing is witty, culturally aware (Chad has the widest breadth of knowledge on music and movies ever in the whole world), spiritually involved and loving. Read it.
Click to Replay
Charity May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
Love this book and LOVE his humor(despite his love for KC sports). If you want a refreshing, tongue-in-cheek book about marriage, this is definitely worth the read!!
Click to Replay
Jennifer May 26, 2019 - 01:14 AM
Loved this book! Probably the best book I have read this year! So funny! Definitely laughed out loud a lot! Enjoyed how he talks about his family and the shenanigans they go through together.
Click to Replay

Leave a Comment

Name
Email
Your Comment
Nightmarriage By Chad Thomas Johnston Chad Thomas Johnston s Nightmarriage is a whimsical memoir that explores the terrors of marriage and the perils of parenthood Adapted from Johnston s blog series of the same name, Nightmarriage proves that, when two people marry, their flaws tie the knot, too In essays such as My Wife, the Black Hole, Hearts and Jumper Cables, Knives and Wives, HoneymoonwalkingChad Thomas Johnston s Nightmarriage is a whimsical memoir that explores the terrors of marriage and the perils of parenthood Adapted from Johnston s blog series of the same name, Nightmarriage proves that, when two people marry, their flaws tie the knot, too In essays such as My Wife, the Black Hole, Hearts and Jumper Cables, Knives and Wives, Honeymoonwalking to Jail , and Blessed Are the Tentmakers, Johnston weaves stories on his literary loom that are equal parts luminous and lunatic.Writing as only a minister s son with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder can, Johnston has crafted an observational ode to both the blunders and wonders of wedlock, and his writing is punctuated accordingly with absurd alliteration, appalling puns, and madcap metaphors Nightmarriage is a must read for fans of David Sedaris, Robert Fulghum, and Anne Lamott.While Johnston created the cover art himself, the interior of the book features original work by artists BARRR, Dan Billen, Ben Chlapek, Megan Frauenhoffer, Danny Joe Gibson, Mark Montgomery, and Darin M White The appendices of the book also include Twitter stream excerpts, recipes, artist information, and other miscellany from the world of Chad Thomas Johnston.

Share this article...
  • Best Read [Chad Thomas Johnston] ↠ Nightmarriage || [Business Book] PDF ☆
    138 Chad Thomas Johnston
  • thumbnail Title: Best Read [Chad Thomas Johnston] ↠ Nightmarriage || [Business Book] PDF ☆
    Posted by:Chad Thomas Johnston
    Published :2019-02-07T01:14:17+00:00