Hunters Srie TV AlloCin
Hunters est une srie TV de David Weil
Desert Rising Best Download || [Kelley Grant]
Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM By Kelley Grant

Desert Rising Best Download || [Kelley Grant] - Desert Rising, Desert Rising It frightens me knowing the One has called up two such strong individuals It means that there are troubled times in our future and you must prepare yourselves The Temple at Illian is the crown jewel
  • Title: Desert Rising
  • Author: Kelley Grant
  • ISBN: 9780062382542
  • Page: 289
  • Format: Paperback

Comments

Kelley Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
I may be a little biased, but I loved this book
Click to Replay
Carien Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
This is a really nice read.I liked both Sulis and Kadar The story switches between the both of them and at times to other characters to give insight in what s going on.I must say I wanted to know about what happened to their mother There are references and I can guess a lot, but it seemed liked what happened to her was glossed over too easily, especially as it is implied that Sulis is following in her footsteps.That aside I was intrigued by the world that is painted in this story.I liked Sulis [...]
Click to Replay
Carrie Mansfield Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
2.5 StarsARC Provided by the publisher Review available on my blogI ve said in the past that one of the better aspects of the Harper Voyager Impulse line is its lower price point it encourages you to take chances on books that you might not otherwise look at, or, in the case of a book such as this, a book that has flaws, but enough originality to balance it out.There is some fun to be had with this book I like the idea of the four deities speaking through humans, and that the humans can channel [...]
Click to Replay
Ingrid Seymour Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
Desert Rising was an entertaining read Sulis and Kadar are great characters with an amazing relationship between them The way they tease each other really makes them feel like siblings who have grown together The lore about the gods in this world is very fleshed out with rich details of how the deities came to be, how the temple works and how acolytes are chosen I wish I d gotten from Djinn I love the idea of feli and bonding Quite a fun read
Click to Replay
Kate Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
Mostly I liked the telepathic cats
Click to Replay
GP Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
Desert Rising has a fairly unique setting and good world building The deity based magics as well as the giant cat familiar bonding has good portents for fans of this type of fantasy The lead protagonists, Sulis, and her twin, Kadar, are strong characters that readers genuinely can get to like, so you re invested in their well being The dangers in the world around seem real but the true and frankly, scandalous danger comes from the gods themselves It might be better to call this the lands of the [...]
Click to Replay
Brooke Johnson Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
I m an absolute sucker for fantasies set in desert cultures, even so for stories that explore religion and deity focused magic, and Desert Rising did not disappoint Grant creates such a vibrant culture and a diverse cast of characters The story is told from the perspective of twins Sulis, bound to a life serving the One from the Temple at Illian, and Kadar, a dashing young merchant who would rather travel the world that sit trapped in the city Between these two main characters, we get to explor [...]
Click to Replay
Danielle Isaiah Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
Desert Rising isn t a perfect YA fantasy novel, but it is, regardless, an excellent and compelling one It s so wonderful to see a young WOC as a protagonist, thrust into a typically white culture who remains proud of her heritage, and steadfastly embraces it, rather than joining the white world Neither the deities nor the feli the giant telepathic cats are a 100% original concept, but they are such simple bases, with such variation enacted upon them, that they stand quite solidly More importantl [...]
Click to Replay
Henry Lazarus Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
Kelley Grant shows us a medieval world in which Gods are quite real and provide the magical powers The One, worshiped by the desert people created four other deities Potential priests are selected by Felis, giant cats who bond with the priests and allow bonding to the one and to the other deities The problem is that the deities not only don t agree, but are frequently in conflict The deity of war has been pushing to expand his armies to attack the people of the desert and has turn people into F [...]
Click to Replay
Miriam Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
I reviewed this title for Ohioana Quarterly ohioanaKelley Grant hales from the rolling green hills of Ohio Amish country, a far cry from the desert world she s created In the Desert kingdoms in a world ruled by sacred cats feli of the One god telepathic cats who bond with their priestesses Revolution is brewing Twins Sulis and Kadar are at the heart of this revolution and it is never a good idea to gain a god s attention, let alone the One god and the four deities on this sandy planet I found my [...]
Click to Replay
Brit Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
This may be the very definition of don t judge a book by it s cover, because if that was all I had to go on I never would have considered reading this book, and I would have missed out on a great story Luckily it was recommended on a website I trust as a good read for people looking for interesting female protagonists in a fantasy novel I completely agree with that statement because Desert Rising has some great characters I loved Sulis and really liked both Farrah and Allanah In fact, one of the [...]
Click to Replay
John Adams Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
The worldbuilding has some interesting elements in the religion especially the whole bonding with big cats bit , although the social parallels to the real world around race, gender, class, and privilege are a bit too on the nose The real problems with the book are in the structure the pacing is notably uneven particularly when what should be climatic events pass in a blink , and way too much of the world is revealed through exposition rather than being slowly peeled back as details in the story [...]
Click to Replay
Robin Rivers Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
I wanted to love this novel, with its desert setting and undertones of dissenting faiths facing off against one another I read and read, mildly enjoying the characters and finally got excited near the second act when I dreaded the thought that the only character I actually felt connected to might die.Then, that was it The third act did nothing, went no where, brought about no resolutions It was a slow, plodding novel with lots of potential that felt at times cliche, out of place and confused.I w [...]
Click to Replay
Nathan Garrison Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
Desert Rising is a solid start to what promises to be a rousing epic fantasy series With bickering gods, giant sentient feline companions, and cultures on the brink of war, the worldbuilding is as deep as they come The main characters are fully fleshed out and interesting in their own unique ways, and the writing is top notch Like many books that are the beginning of a planned series, I felt the plot spent a little too much time setting up the conflict to come, yet there was still enough tension [...]
Click to Replay
Nancy Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
A rich, exotic, culture forms the backdrop for this expertly concocted mixture of murder, romance, and intrigue When Sulis, the daughter of a merchant, accepts her calling to dedicate her life to the Temple, she leaves behind her twin and confidante, Kadar They are not so much separated by distance but by the cultural restrictions that surround Temple pledges But before long, Sulis finds herself deeply involved in the machinations of Temple politics unsure who she can trust except for the feli w [...]
Click to Replay
Michelle Hauck Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
Found this an enjoyable read with interesting characters I found the parts with Sulis at the temple and the deities drew me in than the parts with her brother Kandar and the uprising of the Forsaken But all kept me entertained enough to finish in a few days It was a little narrow in viewpoint for an epic fantasy, but can see that changing with the second book
Click to Replay
Megalion Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
Enjoyable fantasy in the vein of Mercedes Lackey and Juliet Marriller What I particularly liked is that the heroine is dark skinned I ve thought about how fantasy lead characters are so predominantly white when it s especially simple to make them otherwise Plus the feli I m a sucker for any fantasy involving big cats Recommended to anyone who enjoys fantasy.
Click to Replay
Sarah Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
Yeah, this is totally a series, which I did not realize when I read it However, really good and I liked the characters and look forward to reading about the culture and getting world building.
Click to Replay
Janet Clevenger McDermott Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
Excellent book that kept me entertained I m not typically a science fiction or fantasy reader but this book was easy to get into and easy to follow You cared about the characters and wanted to see what would happen next Looking forward to the next books
Click to Replay
Em Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
Enjoyed this trilogy although the story could have been told in 2 volumes instead of 3 Liked book 1 the most for the initial world building and introduction of new characters Book 3 felt convenient and you could see the ending from half the book away which took away a lot of the suspense
Click to Replay
Stacey (secsec1) Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
approachable sci fi great for fans of ya and dystopian stories.
Click to Replay
Debbie Ledesma Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
This is an excellent beginning to a fantasy series The characters, Sulis and Kadar, are wonderful The plot moves fast A fast, entertaining read.
Click to Replay
TheFormerAstronomer Jul 29, 2021 - 09:06 AM
8 10 it would be 9 but I prefer series books that complete each story before moving on to the next This one felt about 90% complete.
Click to Replay

Leave a Comment

Name
Email
Your Comment
Desert Rising By Kelley Grant Desert Rising Best Download || [Kelley Grant] - Desert Rising, Desert Rising It frightens me knowing the One has called up two such strong individuals It means that there are troubled times in our future and you must prepare yourselves The Temple at Illian is the crown jewel

Share this article...
  • Desert Rising Best Download || [Kelley Grant]
    289 Kelley Grant
Desert Rising